Bands of America Grand National Championships

Music for All’s Bands of America Grand National Championships, presented by Yamaha is the nation’s most exciting marching band event. First and foremost, Grand Nationals is an educational performance opportunity open to all high school bands, on a first-come, first-served basis. Grand Nationals is also a spectacular music and pageantry event, one that band fans from across the nation and around the world travel to for the exciting and creative performances.


November 7-10, 2018


Lucas Oil Stadium
500 South Capitol Avenue
Indianapolis, Indiana

Click here for directions.
More information about Lucas Oil Stadium

NEW IN 2018! Judging Format Change for Grand Nationals

The Grand National Championships is a three-day, Preliminary, Semi-Finals, Finals event. Fifty bands perform in each of the two separate Prelims contests (Thursday and Friday), balanced with like numbers of bands from each class. For fall 2018, judging responsibilities will be divided into A and B panels, alternating between blocks, per day. A minimum of 30 bands then advance to Semi-Finals with a formula that ensures inclusion of representatives of each of the four classes and the top scoring bands from the two separate Prelims contests and the overall event. (See BOA Official Procedures and Adjudication Handbook for specifics. The 2018 Handbook will be released by May 2018.) The top 12 scoring bands from Semi-Finals, regardless of class, advance to Saturday evening’s Finals.

  • 25 Field Passes* for Preliminaries, with an option to purchase more (on the day your band performs)
  • 20 Semi-Finals Tickets*
  • 6 Director / Staff Badges* good for admission to Prelims, Semi-Finals, and Finals, with an option to purchase more
  • All bands will receive an educational videographer pass at band check-in
  • *Face value of tickets and passes: at least $1,839


NASSP16 17

National Association of Secondary School Principals has placed this program on the NASSP National Advisory List of Contests and Activities for 2016-2017.